## **MINUTES**

The regular meeting of the Board of Education, Miller School District #29-4 was held on Monday, February 8, 2016, in the Elementary School Library. The meeting was called to order at 6:00 p.m. by Tim Zacher, President of the Board. Other members in attendance were Natalie Bertsch, Bryan Breitling, Jonathan Hurd, Rob Mullaney, and Cynthia Rombough. Absent was Connie Schroeder. Also in attendance were Dan Trefz, Superintendent, Steve Schumacher, Jr./Sr. High School Principal, Amy Johnson, Elementary Principal, Ted Hillman, Interim Elementary Principal and Sara Gates, Business Manager.

Motion by Rombough, second by Mullaney to approve the board agenda as amended. All voting aye.

Motion by Breitling, second by Bertsch to approve the consent agenda items.

- 1. Minutes of the January 11, 2016 regular meeting and January 28, 2016 special meeting
- 2. Financial Report
- 3. Payment of presented bills

All voting aye.

Mick Resel and Crystal Sample were recognized.

Ted Hillman, Interim Elementary Principal, presented the goals he has for himself as Interim Elementary Principal. He commended the students on their lego contest and he reported that he is working on a portion of the informal observations.

Amy Johnson, Elementary Principal, reported that attendance at conferences was 98%.

Steve Schumacher, Jr./Sr. High School Principal, reported that One Act Play qualified for the state competition with Trey Waldrop, Abby Turner and Tia Pawlowski receiving an outstanding actor award at the state event. He stated that Sheltered Reality will be performing on February 25<sup>th</sup> and National FCCLA week is February 7<sup>th</sup> -13<sup>th</sup> and March 2<sup>nd</sup> is the Academic Challenge. He recognized Andrea Fiala for her efforts as advisor for the National Honor Society.

Connie Schroeder arrived at 6:10.

Dan Trefz, Superintendent, reported on the Governor's plan for increasing teacher pay and encouraged attending the upcoming cracker barrel sessions. He informed the board that Tom McGough is a finalist for the National Coach of the Year and stated that School Board Recognition week is February 15<sup>th</sup>-19<sup>th</sup>. He also reported on the AdvancEd onsite review that will be held on March 21<sup>st</sup> & 22<sup>nd</sup>.

Motion by Rombough, second by Hurd to approve the request from the Miller Youth Volleyball to use the armory and elementary gyms for a 5<sup>th</sup> and 6<sup>th</sup> grade tournament on February 11<sup>th</sup>, 27<sup>th</sup>, and March 13<sup>th</sup>, 2016 and waive the fees for this use. All voting aye.

Regular Meeting February 8, 2016 Page 2

Motion by Rombough, second by Mullaney to approve the request from the Junior class to use the kitchen and high school commons for a prom fundraising meal on February 16<sup>th</sup>, 2016 and waive the fees for this use. All voting aye.

Motion by Bertsch, second by Schroeder to recognize the Miller Education Association as the official bargaining organization for the 2016-2017 negotiations. All voting aye.

Motion by Hurd, second by Mullaney to approve the use of a school vehicle and a classroom for driver's education training. All voting aye.

Motion by Breitling, second by Schroeder to approve the request from the Hand in Hand Daycare Board to use the High School Commons for the  $12^{th}$  annual Tour of Tables fundraiser on March  $6^{th}$ , 2016, with set-up to take place on March  $5^{th}$  and waive the fees for this use. All voting aye.

Motion by Hurd, second by Bertsch to create a wrestling fund within the Activity Fund. All voting aye.

Second reading of the stewardship of agency funds policy SDCL 13-16-19.

Motion by Rombough, second by Bertsch to adopt the stewardship of agency funds policy SDCL 13-16-19. All voting aye.

Discussion of Opt-out information.

Motion by Breitling, second by Hurd to have the Board of Miller School District vote on the resolution for the Opt-out of the general fund tax levy limitation as set by the legislature. Voting aye: Bertsch, Breitling, Hurd, Mullaney, Rombough, Schroeder, and Zacher. Motion carried.

## RESOLUTION FOR OPT OUT

The Governoring Board of the Miller School District do state that the above said board is unable to operate under the tax limitation measure currently in statute. We therefore OPT OUT of such tax limitation in the amount of \$385,000.00 starting with calendar year 2016 taxes payable in the calendar year 2017. This opt out will be for 3 years, which will be through taxes payable in the calendar year 2019. This action has been taken by the board and approved by at least a two-thirds vote of the board.

This decision may be referred to a vote of the people upon a petition signed by at least five percent of the registered voters in the district and filed with the governing body within twenty days of the first publication of this decision.

Unless the action is referred to a vote of the people and reversed by such a vote, this resolution authorizes the county auditor to spread an excess levy to raise tax dollars in the above stated amount.

Motion by Breitling, second by Mullaney to adopt the changes to the Miller/Highmore/Harrold football agreement as presented. All voting aye.

Regular Meeting February 8, 2016 Page 3

Motion by Mullaney, second by Rombough to contribute \$500.00 to the State of South Dakota, to represent the District and its interests, as it pertains to the MPC (Gateway/Classroom education) bankruptcy settlement, and allow the Superintendent to sign any settlement agreements. All voting aye.

Motion by Bertsch, second by Hurd to set the start time for regular board meetings to 6:10 for the reminder of the 2015-2016 school year. All voting aye.

Motion by Breitling, second by Rombough to enter into Executive Session for the express purpose of personnel issues and student issues SDCL 1-25-2 (1) & (2) at 6:52 p.m. All voting aye.

President Zacher declared return to regular session at 9:25 p.m.

Minutes recorded by Superintendent.

Motion by Hurd, second by Bertsch to approve the non-certified work agreement for Pat Hasart and Charlene Jan Deuter as temporary teacher during the 2015-2016 school year at \$140.00 per day as set forth by administration, and to be retroactive to the first day of assigned duties. All voting aye.

Motion by Rombough, second by Schroeder to approve the resignation of Megan Stevens as educational assistant effective on February 5, 2016. All voting aye.

Motion by Breitling, second by Mullaney to approve the non-certified work agreement of Jade VanZee as educational assistant for the duration of the 2015-2016 school year at (\$9.45) per hour. All voting aye.

Motion by Rombough, second by Breitling to approve a pay increase of \$.65 per hour for full time hourly classified staff to take effect on February 8, 2016. All voting aye.

The next regular school board meeting is scheduled for Monday, March 14, 2016, at 6:10 p.m. in the elementary school library.

Motion by Schroeder, second by Bertsch to adjourn at 9:27 p.m. All voting aye.

Tim Zacher, Presider	ıt	
Board of Education		
Sara Gates		